Learning ski from the expert :)

Hi dudes🙂

Well… I`ve put it up this story for quite sometimes already. So, I guess its time for me to get this one online before the new year🙂 (my target this year is to get at least 30 posts before the new year and this one will be the 29th😀 yay…:mrgreen: )

So.. basically, me and my friends (Hibinosan, Namatamesan, Uchidasan, and Yoshikawasan) from Yoshino lab were going to a place in Nagano prefecture, Hakuba Goryu. It was done with a sole purpose, skiing😀 heheheh… Since we don`t have winter in Indonesia, I was asking my friends to take me there and teach me how to ski. Afterall, this will be my first time to see the snow and also to know what it feels like to ski😀 (well, I did go to snow city in Singapore and Malaysia, but those two can`t be taken as snow, right?)

Around one week before we went out for Hakuba Goryu, Hibinosan and See took me to Jimbocho to buy a few additional equipments for skiing. I guess the most importan thing is the leg and butt protector. Sad to be said, they were completely confident that I am going to fall down, a lot!!! Sighh… and even more sad, I did feel the same way too :p hehhehe…. I wasn`t very confident that I am going to pull this off unscratched. So, I kept in mind to bear it like a man. Afterall, I have to be able to ski since I need that to teach someone next year😀

The journey started from the lab. We gathered over there and made our way using the train to Ikebukuro station. The starting point for the bus was on that area. After a few confusions here and there, since apparently no one is familiar with the gathering point, we managed to get there safely. The place was approximately 2 km from Ikebukuro station. It’s apparently a bus station. And dudes, the air over there was terrible. It reeked of CO and CO2😦 I was suddenly felt dizzy due to the smoke. Darn it!!!

After waiting for about 15 minutes, the bus was finally leaving the bus station. The driver said that we will arrive at Hakuba Goryu at 6 am. Wow, that was like 7 hours of driving. Looking at the distance (app. 200 km), 7 hours means that the bus was only travelling at 28.5 km/hours. That was really slow, don`t you think?😦 If you drive your own car and go at 50 km/hours, you can get there in 4 hours. Sighh… I hope that I have my own car, soon😦 Oohh… to make things worse, the bus is freaking hot😦 I know its winter and all, but did the driver really has to set it that high? I felt like It was in summer😦 ……. Darn… enough with you complains Wik, get on with the story :p

OnTheBus

Anyway, after a while, we finally arrived at the hotel. We got two rooms in total. The hotel itself was quite nice but I kinda hate the name though. They called it “Cultured”. “Hmmm… how did they end up with that name”, I thought for myself. Well, after dumping all of our luggages into the rooms, we proceed to the rental counter, which was inside the same hotel. I rented the ski wear, google, and the ski gear. It took some times for me to learn how to wear those gears, but thanks to my friends, I finally managed to get myself ready for the ski. “It`s time to do some action!” I said to myself :p

LetsGo

After everything were set, we went to the ski place using the bus. It took about 10 minutes to get there. Unfortunately, the snow only covered the top of the mountain so our place to ski was limited. But it didn`t really matter though, since I only need a little space for training🙂 We went straight to the Gondola after getting the Gondola and Chairlift tickets. It took about 10 minutes to get to the top😀

We alight at the other end and went down the building to the beginner course gate. And then…. over there……… I finally saw the snow!!! Holysh*t… that was really awesome ….🙄 It just can`t be described by words. I just stood there for a few seconds…. amazed with its beauty. Although there were a lot of people standing beside me, I felt like I was standing there alone, looking at the vast white plain, decorated with trees which were covered with leaves like snow. Its breathtaking…. simply amazing…🙄

P1050910 resize

We started warming up after a few words of wisdom🙂 After that, we divided ourself into two groups, snowboarders (Hibinosan, Uchidasan, and Namatamesan) and skiers (Yoshikawasan and me). Yoshikawasan started the ski lesson with the most important issue in ski, “how to stop”😀 Well… he gave me two options, stop using the snow plow or fall down to the side like a man :p Well, of course I chose the first options, but I end up taking the latter😦

Ok… it was time for the real thing🙂 We took the chairlift to the top, and started our way down using the method he told me. Time to use it into practise😀

inthechairlift

As expected, the first trial was a complete failure. I end up falling down many times until I was getting sick of it. “Darn it!! Why do I kept falling down all the time??”, I said to myself. And then, I finally realized that it was due to my way of thinking. I was afraid to fall down. That was why my body kept pulling me on doing something that it thought to be dangerous. I can`t bended my body like I was told to since it seemed like I was going to fall. Hence, my reflex pulled me up straight again and that was the mistake.

IMG 0093 resize IMG 0095 resize IMG 0096 resize

So… I changed my way of thinking. I was going to fall down anyway, so I better tried to do what I was told to although it seemed like I was going to fall down even more. TO my surprise, it worked!!! I was able to turn left and right and making my way down to the slope😀 Of course, I still falled down a lot but its nothing like the first one. I was starting to get the hang of it😀 yay!!!

IMG 0097 resize

However, my joy was stopped by an accident😦 I was trying to get down from a steep slope and to my surprise, the left ski was loosened up when I was turning to the right. The left ski was suddenly casted out and my left leg was stuck on the snow. I falled down hard on that one and the ski board hit my left knee as I was rolling down the slope. It hurted like hell😥 Darn it. I can`t moved for a minute. Fortunately Hibinosan was right behind me. He helped me up and took me to the side. After rested for a few minutes, I wore my ski and head down to the chairlift. Man… the pain was killing me😦 I kept saying to myself that it didn`t hurt at all. But the swell on my knee said differently. Finally, I managed to reach the chairlift, took my way up, and went down to the main building where I can get rest.

After that, I waited for my friends and we all went down to get lunch using the Gondola. And again, I realized that I lost my Gondola and chairlift ticket when I was resting😦 Darn!!! It was not my day…. My friends helped me to find that ticket but it ended up with nothing. So, I was thinking to stop and just waiting for them. But, I`ve went this far. I won`t stop for just an injury and ticket lost😦 After talking for a while, we bougth a new ticket for me, and we went up again😀

The first day end after I took two rounds up and down. We went back to the hotel and took some rest. Over there, I checked on my knee, and man, its swollen. My left knee seemed like a ball😥

The second day started early at 8.30 am. We went up and went straight to the course again. This time, I went up with a full confidence. I have to be able to do it today or my journey was wasted for nothing. And hey… eventhough my knee still hurting, I managed to get it done really well, if I can said so to myself😀 I managed to get all the way down with only two or three fall…. yay!!! Way to go Wik :p hehehhehe….

We did it for about 4 hours and rested on the main building. It was really an amazing experience for me😀 We kept talking for a while on the main building veranda, took some pictures and went back to the bus since our bus to Tokyo will leave at 3 pm.

IMG 0098 resize

P1050912 resize

P1050913 resize

We returned the ski and snowboard equipments to the rental counter right after we arrived at the hotel. After that, we took some rest while waiting for the bus🙂 Finally, it was time to leave Hakuba Goryu😦 sighh.. it was a little bit sad for me. As I looked out the window, staring at the white scenery to the mountain where we have fun during the last two days…… Goodbye Hakuba Goryu… I`ll be back next year😀 Zettai…..

P1050968 resize

One Response

Leave a Reply

