• Wiku is …..

    me1.jpg

    someone who find an interest in blogging. Thinking of sharing stories and common knowledges to other people. It might or might not be useful to you, but you never know... until you read it :D Sooo... just sit back, relax, and enjoy your stay :)

    Click here to view my complete profile
  • Fresh from the oven

  • Old story

Understanding Japanese is only one click away

Well…. the title tells all the story. Since I always end up struggling when I received emails in Japanese and my wonderful little electronic dictionary is way too complicated to help me translating the email, I always end up asking my labmate to translate it for me. But… I know that its really troublesome for some people, and I don`t wanna make my friends feel that way to me. So I end up relying on myself now….. I have to!!!

Well…. the best choice is actually to learn the language faster than ever… but it still takes time. No matter how much time I spend on learning Japanese language, I still need at least another three months to be able to read and understand the content of that email. So… I decided to use this option for the long term usage.

As for now…. I am using this website called excite. They are giving a service of free translation from Japanese to English and vice versa. Well… so far so good. Its not really perfect in a way, especially if you`re talking about the grammar, either for Japanese nor English. But…. its more than enough to make you understand the gist of the email text or any other sentences input.

The site itself is in Japanese. But… no worry πŸ˜€ Even if you don`t understand Japanese, you can use it just fine. Just insert your text to the left box and choose whether you want to translate form English to Japanese (θ‹±β†’ζ—₯) or Japanese to English (ζ—₯β†’θ‹±). Then press “enter”, the translation will be given on the right box. Thats it… you are done πŸ™‚

Let me give you an example. Suppose that you are trying to get the Japanese translation of “I love you”… this is what you`ll get:

EtoJ

And now… let just say someone is sending you an email with this kind of sentence “私はあγͺγŸγ‚’ζ„›γ—γ¦γ„γΎγ™” you can just copy the sentence and put it into that site. You will get this in return:

JtoE

Thats it!! πŸ˜€ Pretty easy, right?

Well… I think I`m gonna hang for a little while with this one…. I hope you like it πŸ˜€

10 Responses

  1. semangat belajar bhs jepang!

  2. i have a better option, mas. use the rikaichan extension in firefox, you can directly translate the japanese text “in place” by blocking the text in your browser. you can even translate japanese names written in kanji (they have names database). check it out here http://www.polarcloud.com/rikaichan/

  3. Reditya: well… it`s a little bit different from what I have in mind πŸ™‚ But, thanks anyway. Its really helpful πŸ˜€

  4. is that so simple Mas Wiku? how to say and pronounce the hiragana words?

  5. Setiawan: Well… its that simple. This one was intended for someone who wants to translate his email or other thing from the internet (softcopy, which can be copied and pasted on the site). However, if you really have to write it down using your keyboard, you can add the Japanese keyboard layout to your operating system.
    Another way is by installing Microsoft IME on your OS. After thatm you can assign a combination key to change the keyboard layout from English to Japanese πŸ™‚ Try it….

  6. Yup, I do it sometimes as well.
    Have you tried rikai chan?
    It’s good as we can practise a lil instead of digesting the whole ready translation.

  7. ini kaya transtool gitu ya??

  8. kapan ya aku pake ituh? heheh

  9. kekekekekek kapan juga ya aku pake ituh???

  10. wuih mantabs bro
    btw, kok word ku ga bisa menyalin karakter jepang ya, kenapa ya?

Leave a comment